FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread
1 2 3 Last

Style Icon

Need Help Reinventing My Style On A Budget

Hi guys
    I'm 18 and right now I'm going through a period of extreme fustration at the moment. I'm desperate to change my current image. The art-studenty, hipster look I've had going for a while suddenly feels immature and kind of conformist, given the amount of people going for that particular look.
    I've long had an interest in fashion and I find it very difficult looking at all these great looks and not being in a position (I'm a student) to recreate them. I want to start wearing nice trousers and leather casual shoes in place of my usual skinny jeans and vans, but alot of stuff I try doesn't suit me and I end up looking like I'm trying to hard.

The long and short of this is: can anyone recomend stores, pieces or looks that would allow me to dress current, smart and maturely, but on the budget of your average university student.
    Any advice would be very welcome!
    Cheers.

Sam

Style Icon
    Hi there!
    I'd suggest that "Reinvention" always looks forced. If you want to start dressing more maturely, keep it simple, and faithful to your individual style. The keep it simple bit is key; It's impossible to look like you're trying too hard in a simple outfit. If your normal outfit would be, say, skinny jeans, a tee and Vans, maturing the look could be as simple as swapping the Vans for simple, unadorned leather trainers and the tee for a shirt. This does depend on the fit of your jeans; skinny jeans are still alright, but try to move away from the elastane infused skintight stuff and towards more relaxed styles in beefier denim that break a little at the ankle.