FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Black tie event

Greetings, gents. I realize this may be a silly question but I'm just beginning to get into the world of mens fashion and I just recently found this awesome website. I recently got invited to a wedding and the invitation says it's a "black tie" event. My question is, what sould someone wear to a black-tie wedding? Are there specific guidelines or rules that you must follow when attending one of these events in order to not be rude to the hosts? Do I have to stick to the typical black and white penguin tuxedo or can I switch it up a bit without being looked at as the black sheep of the party? Basically, I would like my outfit to stand out at this wedding but I don't want to be rude to the host either by wearing something that's too colorful, or too "outside of the box".

Any tips, outfit suggestions or even image examples will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, fellas.

Trend Setter
    Firstly, can I point you in the direction of The Black Tie Guide. It is an entirely free internet resource giving you more information about dinner jackets, tuxedos and evening wear than most of us will probably ever need. Check out the sections on Black Tie weddings (obviously) under the supplemental section and have a read through both the Classic and Contemporary Black Tie sections. It discusses tasteful twists and alternatives for black tie.

Secondly, here are my personal tips for making a black tie outfit look good in no great order:

- tradition pays dividends: black and white, utterly traditional looks have survived because they are guaranteed to make you look great. The single most important thing you can do is get a good suit that fits well. Make sure your shirt is sparkling white and your bow tie shiny black.