FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Making the move to "smart-casual"?

Hey guys, newbie here, nice meeting you all

I am a 23 y.o. professionnal school student looking to get some advice on how to build up a new wardrobe that would help me break the jeans-and--t-shirt-or-chinos-and-button-up rut in which I have been stuck for most of my college years. I am starting to take a serious interest in style and have read a LOT on the subject, but I must say things are rather overwhelming and I have absolutely no idea what the logical next purchase should be...

I therefore thought I would post the main elements of my wardrobe and let you guys comment on what I should buy next to complement it and/or what interesting outfits could be built out of it in its present state... Sad as it is, I must say that regardless of how much I read, I often get confused as to what are dos and don'ts when I am trying to dress up stylishly, so any pointers would really be appreciated as I dearly need them

So, here are the main things I have bought in the last few months since getting more conscious of style and clothes in general:
    - Black sport jacket (need to get it tailored, will do in the next week)

- Navy blazer with VERY subtle pattern (ditto on the tailoring)
    - Many decent button-ups. Have some in solid white, black, grey and light blue as well as many versatile patterns (I think I'm pretty set on that front, really)
    - Charcoal, black, orange, red and light gray cashmere or cotton v-neck sweaters
    - Good pair of raw indigo denim (Levi's 501s)
    - Khaki and black chinos
    - Good quality reversible brown/black leather belt
    - Brown leather oxfords, navy espadrilles, navy boat shoes (i love navy...), black sneakers.