FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Did I miss the memo?

I've recently been asked to change career paths by my boss. We're a small manufacturing company, and we were deep in the red in July. The owner, who mostly works on the shop floor, cleaned house and pulled me out of the shop and into the office. I'm a welder/fabricator by trade.

We've managed to get back into the black for the year, taking about three months to undo six months of damage.

I've taken my new position seriously, and have been building a wardrobe that would be best described as business casual. Quality trousers and long sleeve collared shirts in several colors, mainly. No ties, no jackets. I've also been slowly upgrading my accessories. Going from a sport style watch to a more elegant one and ditching the wide, faded work belt for a nice dress one, things like that.

Anyway, I pretty much handle the office. I deal with customers, place orders, and do the engineering. Due to this last bit, I was asked to attend the roll-out for the latest version of our drafting software, Solidworks. I called and asked, and was told that the dress code was "business casual". Great! No last minute suit shopping for me!

I did realize that, as with most such events, there was a very good chance that the room would be ice cold. So, I needed a jacket. I purchased a decent enough herringbone grey sport coat for the event. After trying several different shirts, I realized that basic white worked best with the jacket. And it also needed a pocket square. Ok, I can do that.

The day of the event I wore charcoal trousers, white oxford shirt, the herringbone jacket, slim belt, and the only thing in my wardrobe in real dire need of an upgrade, my "dress" shoes, which are really cheap shoes designed for waiters. And yes, my socks matched my shoes, and my shoes, my belt. I figured I'd be about middle of the road, dress wise.

I was very, very wrong.