FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread
1 2 Last

Trend Setter

looking good casually

I'm a final year student and find that I need to spend more time in the library this year. I hate looking sloppy and often dress smart casually but find its simply not comfortable for long hours in the library. Anyone got some ideas or lookbooks without looking like the baggy hoody and sweatpants look that most students go for

If you're a student, you can't go far wrong with slim jeans, plaid/oxford shirt with a simple crew neck sweatshirt over, maybe with a pair of desert boots. It's a pretty classic look and you'll probably have most of the items already so no need to break the bank. I guess it's just about dressing things up a little for a less sloppy look.

Style Icon
    Sweatpants and hoody usually looks sloppy because the wearer has gotten the biggest, baggiest size they can possibly get away with. If you buy more fitted clothes, you automatically look less sloppy. Also, for added sloppyness, wash everything two hundred times, and never throw them away - even when the seams are giving up.

Seriously though, I honestly don't see the need for shirts when studying in the library. Get a pair of well fitted jeans, with good stretch for comfort. T-shirt and a not too large sweater - avoid anything with large oversized logos. A pair of not too knackered sneakers. A jacket that suits the weather. And fix your hair. Don't look like you just rolled out of bed.

Saw this image and to me is the perfect smart casual student look.

Trend Setter