FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Style Icon

Business attire in USA

Hi all,

I have the possibility of being transferred to the US with my company (I'm currently uk based). I work as an Account Executive in IT and the company and role is very formal, so a suit and tie is an absolute. I currently have a slightly more flamboyant formal dress code, compared to my colleagues anyway, for example my known signature at work are puffed pocket squares and I have many tailored suits in some slightly more experimental fabrics such as chocolate burgandy and glen plaid.

However when I've travelled to the US, I notice I sometimes get some flippant remarks, almost always from other US colleagues, about my dress code for example the touches like the pocket squares and tailored slimmer suits. Most of the ones commenting are stood their in boxy blazers and golf shirts. Usually along the lines of looking too camp.

I can't work out what the business formal etiquette is - are these negative comments just coming from chest beating alpha males, or is the European business formal just a bit too brash and showy for the US? When I meet with clients out there I want to make sure I look smart and professional without looking like a show off.

I guess another question would be what part of the US, as I'm sure places like NewYork and Chicago are a bit more varied and open to it than other areas, but I'm not quite sure which region I will be placed into yet.

Any experiences? Will I really be wearing boxy pinstripe blazers with cream chinos and racing green golf shirt?

So, I noticed most posters are here are not from the US. Well, it looks like you have been at the place you will be working before. I am sure you had a chance to look at what they were wearing.