FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Fashionisto

Most versatile Coat/Jacket?

I really need to get myself a new jacket and since I'm a student I can only afford to get myself one good quality jacket.

So which is your most versatile coat/jacket?

Also as a side question, same thing for shoes/boots. If you could only have two of your current pairs, which would it be?

Nat

Style Icon
    Depends entirely on your style, though for something that can be dressed up or down, you can't beat a peacoat in either navy or charcoal.

Same goes for shoes. If you can only have two pairs, then makes sense to have one smart (brown derby or tan brogue) and one casual (desert boots or chukka boots).

J8x

Trend Setter
    I'm thinking something along the lines of a Barbour field jacket or quilt. Probably the most versatile in terms of being able to dress up or down and giving the option of wearing as a regular jacket or layering underneath and using like it's outerwear. Depends on your personal style to begin with though. Trying some different styles on with your current wardrobe would go a long way to seeing how it would fit in with your tastes.

Style Icon
    I'm taking it you need something for now, the winter season? In that case, I'd say a warm leather jacket is very versatile. I prefer the bomber type leather jacket, like the one below.

As for shoes/boots, with regard to season, I'd keep my black working boots (for rainy/snowy days) and my brown brogue boots (for when you need or want something a little less rough).

Fashionisto
    After asking for advice on here I have recently bought a pea-coat and a Barbour jacket.
    Both are classics (as is Marc's bomber) and could well be with you for many years so you could grow your own vintage.

Possibly of interest to you: