FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Beginner Fashion Question (Stuck and Don't Know What I'm Doing Wrong)

Hi, I'm a young professional (24 yo) who isn't a huge fan of time spent on shopping/fashion, but nonetheless has realized that I need to dress a little better than jeans + polos if I want to make good impressions socially. However, despite a lot of effort, time, and money, I am having some difficulty following the advice on here.

My first problem is finding pants. I found some chinos, which seem to be the go-to versatile thing to wear for pants, but none were my size in the stores I went to (JCPenney and Target). I am pretty short at 5' 6”, but I know plenty of guys who are shorter, so I would have expected there to be something my size. There were a few chinos that were about the proper length (seems to be about size 28-29), but those were all much much wider in the waist than they should be. I am probably somewhere around 28-30, and all of those were 36 or more! (Related question...all the pants were expensive, like $60, I have the money if it truly needs to be spent, but is that normal or can I get good pants for a more reasonable price?)

My second problem is finding decent shirts. The girl at the JCPenney helped me by getting my measurements, and then I picked out a white, light blue, and black OCBD, and a patterned button down. They were all “fitted” cuts. I figured that since we had gotten my measurements, they would fit. I was wrong. When I got home, I tried them on and realized the damn things were so long that they were like dresses! Even if I tuck them in (which I'd rather have the option of not doing sometimes) the damn things “balloon” out uncontrollably. What the hell?!