FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Matching colours.

I'm new to all being fashionable and stuff and I have an issue with trying to match colours. How do you guys know what colours matches with which? What colour shoes should I get? I always thought brown would be the best colour but after I read that black jeans wouldn't go well with brown shoes, I'm not too sure about purchasing a brown shoe. Also I have a few more questions posted in this thread, I would be greatly appreciative if anyone could provide me some answers and guidance!

http://www.fashionbeans.com/forums/g...-wardrobe.html

Trend Setter
    You need to look at the colour wheel in these articles on FB

Common Fashion Mistakes: The One Colour | FashionBeans

http://www.fashionbeans.com/2011/com...o-much-colour/

Just wanted to add one more thing.
    I am colour blind, and to combat this. I just dress sensibly. no crazy colours unless it is the only one in line with neutrals. I think there is an article on "a pop of colour" too.

But your question is quite broad.
    Even asking should I wear Brown with Black?
    The answer to that question can vary substantially on its own.
    Last edited by James; 09-02-2014 at 05:50 PM.

Style Icon
    A brown shoe can go with black jeans if the rest of the outfit suits it. Brown brogues with black jeans (for example) can look excellent.

The colour matching article James posted is very good, that's an excellent start point. There are a whole heap of other considerations too, to name a few:

Pattern matching (using colours)
    Your skin / hair colour
    The season / weather