FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Trend Setter

Summer country wedding attire for a student

Good day guys,

I've started my clothing metamorphosis around last years summer and since then I've been investing in a lot of (casual) classics. I am a student and I don't really have a lot of occasions that I actually have to dress up, so I only have a few pieces that I have used so far when an event called for something a little more formal (I just went on and bought something when I actually needed it):

- Fitted shirts in light blue, light pink, white and blue gingham
    - Black wool suit trousers
    - Black vintage tuxedo blazer from Dolce&Gabbana (picked this up instead of renting a tuxedo once and got it tailored)
    - A single pocket square I picked up in the last sales because I liked it so much (http://cdn.yoox.biz/46/46313677eq_21_f.jpg)
    - A black knitted tie
    - A black silk bow tie and a white/beige striped cotton bow tie

As I am pretty happy with how I look casually, even though there are a few pieces I still want to pick up, this summer wedding I am to attend to in June is the perfect opportunity to stock up on a few things I might get a lot of wear out in the future.

I have read this article on fashionbeans already (Dressing For A Summer Wedding – Part 1: As A Guest | FashionBeans) but I am still not sure what I want to go for. I don't mind spending more on something that's going to last me quite some time (my budget is not endless, of course...), but on the other hand I still want to try to incorporate something from what I already have and still look put together. What makes the decision more difficult, is the fact that the groom and bride are from the country and are not really into dressing up, which means I really don't wanna look better or fancier dressed than the groom (the invite says 'formal').