FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread
    Joe

Traveling China and Vietnam, Capsule Wardrobe.

Hello,

So i'm a graduate engineer from Edinburgh, with a full time job starting in September (currently working part-time at a bar/restaurant), and as such I decided I would make the most of my 'free' time and go travelling. As of May I will be leaving Scotland for China, where I will spend a month in Beijing. Following this I join a group of 18-35 year olds traveling to Hong Kong. Following this is fly to Saigon, in Vietnam, and travel by bus (for a month) up through rural areas/towns to Hanoi.

SO....

As I have recently had a post graduation 'style awakening', and developed a keen interest in improving the way I dress, I'm looking to put together a versatile capsule wardrobe. From city bars and restaurant to beach wear and walking through rural villages, i'd like to feel comfortable and cool (in both uses). As the climate ranges from 20˚C, dry (Beijing) to 30˚C, humid and rainy (Saigon) this could prove challenging.

Heres what I feel is a good starting point;-

Tops; Navy Polo and Light/White Polo , 2 Neutral T's, 2 Linen Shirts and a quick dry/exercise top

Bottoms; Cotton/chino shorts, black jeans, swim shorts, khaki/light blue lightweight chinos

Shoes; Black/primary colour New Balance(s), leather sandals

Outerwear; Umbrella which I will just buy there : ), Blue Linen blazer.

Let me know what you think, if you have been travelling and have any advice. Is this too much or too little? Is this Castaway or Coming To America (strange reference)?

Joe
    Last edited by Joe; 26-03-2014 at 11:53 PM.

Des

Style Icon
    Stick with basic pieces and you'll be fine i reckon. There are some good articles on the FB website and also a little on Mr porter.