FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Fashionisto

Austin Reed

Guys

Could I gather some opinions on Austin Reed?

I've not bought from them before but they have just opened an outlet store close to where I live.

How do you find the quality and fit? I notice they have two royal warrants which is usually a good sign but I trust you guys more than the royal family haha.

Trend Setter
    Quote Originally Posted by Martins View Post
    Guys

Could I gather some opinions on Austin Reed?

I've not bought from them before but they have just opened an outlet store close to where I live.

How do you find the quality and fit? I notice they have two royal warrants which is usually a good sign but I trust you guys more than the royal family haha.
    I used to work in a shop selling Austin Reed alongside DAKS, Jaeger, Aquascutum and the like. IMHO the suits are decent quality, reasonably well priced, though I would say (back then) the styles were always a couple of years behind the curve. If you find one you like then go for it. I'd recommend also having a look at Suit Supply, Reiss and Daks if you're looking for a suit in that price bracket though.

Trend Setter
    My work shirts are from AR. I'm impressed with the quality, they still feel soft and like new, after many many wears/washes.
    The fit is definitely old school though, I had to get their 'super slim' fit in my usual neck size, and even then there's still a little gather at the bottom after tucking in. Not much at all.
    I get them when they have a sale on. Last time I got 3 for 2 plus my shirts were on sale 60-down-to-40 (so saved 100 on a 3-shirt buy!)
    Deffo go into a store and try stuff on for fit, before buying.
    But the quality-to-price ratio is about right

Fashionisto