FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Wedding Reception Advice

Hi, I'm relatively new to fashion. I wouldn't say I was ever the worst dressed person but certainly wasn't the best. I've recently finished the fashion basics articles and have learned so much.

I have a wedding reception on the 31st of August at a hotel and would like some advice.

I was thinking of wearing beige coloured trousers with a white shirt and navy blazer with brown shoes. My questions are:

Would this look be a good start?
    Tie or no tie and if so would pink be a good choice?
    What type of shoes?

Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks.

FashionBeans Legend
    Quote Originally Posted by DamienJ View Post
    I was thinking of wearing beige coloured trousers with a white shirt and navy blazer with brown shoes. My questions are:

Sounds fine.

Definitely wear a tie - it's a formal occassion. You can always ditch it later in the evening after the formal bit is out of the way.

Not sure about pink with that combo though. Red or even orange would look good though.

What type of shoes?
    Can't go wrong with derbies or even some monks.

On a side note, I was at two wedding in England in the last few years - they're fairly tame affairs compared to Irish weddings. At my own wedding, we'd decks going in the residents bar until 6am, so I was expecting them to go on into the early hours of the morning, but at both of them, the bar shut before mid-night and we'd to head into the local village. I wasn't too impressed.

Trend Setter
    I have a wedding reception on the 31st of August at a hotel and would like some advice.

What type of shoes?

Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks.
    It's the most often repeated piece of advice you'll get but also the best: if you are unsure what to wear to a wedding ask your hosts. It is their celebration and they set the tone for it.