FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Newbie Here - Any Fashion Advice Appreciated

Hey guys,

As I suggest I'm a first time poster having almost accidentally stumbling across Fashion Beans a few weeks ago. First of all, I'd like to take this opportunity to introduce and talk a "little" about myself, I emphasise the word "little" because in reality I can talk for Britain. Anyway, like a fair percentage of the male population my name is Tom, I'm 23 years old and currently live in Nottinghamshire, although originally from West Yorkshire. Work in a city centre hotel at the moment, although this was primarily to subsidise myself whilst studying, and too, during my present application for the Army.

Another reason I'm here is to, at least hopefully, seek fashion advice/style/tips etc from your good selves. If I'm honest, whilst I've always had a strong interest in clothes, well, for as long as I can remember anyway, up until I've generally just gone for a t-shirt, polo shirt or shirt with a smart pair of jeans and shoes without really pondering 'what goes with what' etc. I suppose you could say I'm looking to branch out with my wardrobe and more than willing to embrace a combination of timeless and modern styles, accessorised when appropriate. I try to remain as open-minded as possible when it comes to fashion, the same going for colours too.

I do like my appearance to reflect my personality and my body shape/type, yes, I realise that probably sounds rather vain. I've always been very out-going and love been around and mixing with people socially, adopting an fun-loving, lively, optimistic and upbeat approach towards life, and owing to sports and fitness always being a significant mainstay of my life, without trying to sound too poncey my body shape/type would be described as athletic/muscular. I'm 6ft1 and around 13 stones.