FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Budgeting Your Wardrobe (Question)

Hello,

I've recently joined the site having read a few of the very useful articles on here. I'm now at the stage where i'm starting to turn around my "style" and reinventing, as the recent couple of articles have talked about. There is one hitch, however; I'm a 19 year old student on a tight budget. To put it in perspective, i'm loath to cross the £100 boarder on a single item due to money restraints.

My question, therefore, is what items do you feel it is more important/necessary to invest in higher quality (e.g. all saints) and which items do you think you can get away with lower cost items (e.g ASOS clothing).

Thanks in advance!

Jay

Style Icon
    I'd invest most heavily in footwear (good footwear lasts), outerwear (from blazers to coats) and knitwear (natural fibres only).

Style Icon
    For Allsaints and similarly priced shops, I only ever get their stuff on eBay or in the sales. As a student, the most I'd ever spend on a single item really is £80 (and that even includes Blazers these days!)

I do agree that shoes should be an investment tbf, but at the same time, my tan ASOS brogues are lasting me a treat (they were only £50).

Trend Setter
    @BenHerbert - can we make a fashion basics section for these types of threads?

Style Icon
    Quote Originally Posted by Olly View Post
    @BenHerbert - can we make a fashion basics section for these types of threads?
    Great idea.