FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

ASOS Pea Coat - What To Wear With It?

hey guys, long time lurker.

I am totally guilty of lacking a variety of colour in my wardrobe. Most of my stuff is black (save for the odd shirt) or very dark (e.g. navy, dark brown, wine). It tends to be a matter of darker shades being easy to pair together, so I can put little thought into getting dressed in the morning. (This is a cycle I'm looking to break out of).

ASOS | ASOS Shawl Peacoat at ASOS

However, this beige pea coat stood out to me in the ASOS sale (admittedly, I'm a student in debt so the price tag definitely appealed) and was wondering what people's opinions are on it? Not just opinions, Also inspiration for what I could wear with it. I was thinking navy trousers, tan shoes/belt but aside from that I'm a bit clueless. I think it's a really nice piece though, and this colour jacket seems to not be found on many guys nowadays (always a good thing). So do you like it? any outfit ideas? Style wise, I like more formal pieces (shirt, leather shoes, trousers. not keen on jeans, rarely wear t-shirts).

Cheers!

Jay

Style Icon
    I've never been a fan of the peacoat really, but the colour is nice and almost anything will go with it.

Your idea of navy with tan shoes is absolutely sound and will create a good balance of dark and light tones. I think stone/camel coloured coats work best with dark colours to anchor them so your current wardrobe would be ideal.

How about these for ideas:

Simple and stylish: a black roll neck, black jeans and black chelsea boots (I think that would look awesome)

Autumnal: cream/ecru cable knit jumper, dark brown tweed trousers and tan brogues

A Splash of colour: dark chambray/denim shirt, dark red skinny chinos/cords and tan brogue boots

Trend Setter
    I am also not really a fan of the peacoat nor the shawl collar nor beige/cream. So, that coat is definitely not for me but it is a nice piece if that's your thing.