FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread
1 2 Last

Fashion Help - Smartening Up My Image

Hey wondered if this is the right place to ask for some fashion advice?

I'm 27 and I've never really paid much attention to what I wear, usually loose jeans, t shirts and hoodies from next etc because the clothes fit, I might wear some jeans and a shirt if I go out, my clothes are always at the bottom of my priority list to be honest.

I basically want to smarten up my image, started today by going shopping at cabot circus in bristol, not much luck (shopping is my idea of a nightmare), bought some straight fit diesel larkee jeans which I quite like and that is about it. The rest of it is a lot different to what I would normally wear and I didnt know where to start??

I'll try to take a photo of me with my usual clothes if it will help you guys at all.

Cheers

Mike

Style Icon
    Hey man, do you live in Bristol? I'm a student there and there's some great stores there for what your looking for.

What you need to do is build up a collection of basic, smart clothes that will work together in lots of different combinations.

1) Chinos - these automatically smarten up any outfit. Topman's Chinos come in a variety of colours and many people find the fit very satisfactory for the price. Colourwise, stick with stone or navy, neatral shades that will work with most clothes.

2) Plain tee shirts - these should be the staple of your wardrobe and the basis for all your outfits. For your age, a vee neck is still a ncie statement but avoid slouchy, scoop tees. I buy mine from Topman or H and M. Stick to white, black, grey and navy.

3) Shirts - simple smart designs are the name of the game. I say you need one light blue oxford shirt, a white oxford, a denim shirt or a chambray one. These are worth spending a bit more money on for fit and quality. My favourite shirts are from Allsaints, but Topman are doing some okay ones at the moment.