FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Smartening Up My Wardrobe

Hello all, this is my first post and I'm here to ask the fashionbeans community about smartening my wardrobe.

First of all, I'm a student but I still have a job so I can save money for this much needed update but as you'll have guessed, I'm not going to be made of money (no Armani for me).

I've been following fashionbeans for over a year now and certain styles have resonated with me much more than others, such as the suits. These are something I'd like to get into wearing on most days since I believe they'll match my character and ultimately make me feel more confident and relaxed (which is ultimately my goal here).

I'm mostly looking to ask:

What suits should I own? I know I should have Navy, Grey and Black suits, but is there anything else I should be looking to add?

What can I do to add some variety to my newfound suits? What colours can I use with each suit? Are bow ties acceptable? What shoes can I wear with each?

If it's really any help, I'm quite a fan of the way Ed Westwick wears his suits and pulls them off. Any others who I may like the style of?

Many thanks, everyone.

Sam

Style Icon
    Hi there, and welcome to the forum!

Firstly that's a noble goal you've got there - what do you need and what's your approximate budget?
    But anyway, right down to business.
    Navy and grey suits are both essential but you don't need to own both - just one of the two will suffice and it's entirely personal preference. If you go for grey, don't opt for too light a shade; it looks really fantastic but it's not as versatile or seasonally transcendent. A black suit isn't going to get worn as much for most people but you should probably still have one if you're a suits guy.