FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Fashionisto

Fitness help needed

Hey guys, I imagine this is probably a topic dotted all over this forum and the internet but everywhere I search has nothing specific to what I need help with, if you could answer in as much detail as possible all the questions i need answering, it would be so so very much appreciated.. so here goes..

My situation:

I am a 19 year old male, unfortunately pretty lanky. Im about 6 foot 2, and weigh about 70kg.
    I have been on a plan/workout for a few months now without getting the results I want/looking for, so I'll run you through what I've been doing then any help from people would be HUGELY appreciated.

I am in first year at university, in september-ish I joined the gym in the hope I would become toned-ish by the summer and build from there over the next couple of years, I've joined gyms before but never gone for longer than 2-3 months but this time I was determined.

Workouts - I have always been pretty fit as in cardio terms, running/jogging, playing football, basketball etc.

I go to the gym 3 times a week one week, then 4 the next. Usually in a cycle like this: monday - wednesday - friday - sunday - monday - wednesday - friday

Im usually at the gym from anywhere between 1 hour to 1 hour 20ish.

In the first 2-3 months I bulked up/toned up quite a bit and I was happy, but now its like a brick wall, so annoying.

I do a 10 minute jog at the start of every session, then I used to work all muscles every session until I was told you need rest so the last 3months or so iv been working something alone these lines

10 minute jog at start of each workout. Onesession, I do biceps, triceps and abs, then the next session I do chest, shoulders, legs and back. And I keep alternating between these two so im working each muscle group about once every 4 days.. Is this too little?!

And how should I be working out, at the moment I do sets of about 8-12 reps on maybe 80%?