FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

side parting help needed

Hello,

I have been on this site for a couple of weeks now, I really like it, but this is my first time posting / creating a thread.

Now I am stuck with my side parting.
    I got a haircut like two weeks ago because I wanted something different from what I used to have.
    I had a side parting but with hair covering half of my ears if I didn't do my hair. Kind of med. long.
    I wanted a classic shiny side parting where I could go through with my fingers. I used to use gel, so fingers through
    hair was out of the question.
    So I got my sides and back shorter and on the top of my head longer hair.
    As I looked in the mirror I saw a nice parting. But I did not see the back of my head.

now the actual problems:

1. Now I started using brylcreem, very standard, I am a novice. I had never used it before. Gives a nice shine, feels and smells nice, but it doesn't hold my hair too good. My hair tends to fall back into it's natural ehm.. shape. Any other products I should use? Or any way to solve it? I'd like to keep the ability of going through my hairs with my fingers, but with a parting that does not turn
    into some sloppy kind of 15-year-olds quasi sexy quiff
    2. I like to comb my hair to the back of my head, not really to the sides, but with a parting. Like this, only my sides
    are a bit longer. The problem is that the hair on the back of my head does not look neat. It is a bit messy. The hair
    where the back of my head starts seems to stand up a bit and I can't seem to get the two parts of the parting to
    match up on the back of my head. Will everything be solved when I shorten the sides and back a bit more? I have watched
    a few tutorials on how to do a slick parting, but they never show the back of the head.

Maybe a bit too much for a first post but I really like to get my parting right for not too much money.

Thank you for your time.