FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Style Icon

Half-marathon preparations

I've decided to attempt a half-marathon in September, provided I stay well during spring and summer (I am very prone to colds). I'm currently in the process of losing excess weight to not wear my knees out, and doing a lot of rowing to build up back and core strength (my back is a bit of a weak spot). Sweden is snow covered at the moment, and I'm not running when there's snow and ice, as I find the risk of injury is too great. But I'm thinking September leaves me plenty of time for running once the snow has lifted.

I'm not a complete beginner when it comes to running, but I've only started to take it more seriously as of last year. I ran 10 km in 58 minutes last summer, which is not a great time, but it'll give you a pointer on my shape, and time is not really that important to me. My main goal for the half-marathon is to finish, second goal is a 2 hour 10 minute finish time, and if I finish under two hours I'll be over the moon.

I know there are a lot of runners on here, so I'll gladly take any advice on preparations, training plans, gear, shoes etc.

Style Icon
    Hi marclager

I've run a number of full and half marathons, I usually do 4-6 a year. Everyone is different in terms of their training requirements and also motivators for doing the runs, personally these have worked for me:

1) I am not interested in achieving 'personal best' times and just focus on enjoying the run. Personally I find running to the point of being uncomfortable too off putting and demotivating. By running within my comfort zone both in training and the actual race, I can enjoy it a lot more.