FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Fashionisto

Fashion Related Careers

Hi everybody.

I am currently at college doing like a summer-school course to get myself on to an access course, which upon successful completion, would get me a place in Uni.
    However, what I want to do at University is not as crystal clear as it may be with other fellow students. Im studying English Language, English Literature and Psychology in my Septemer course, just purely because I feel English in general is my strength, plus I love writing creatively etc.

I've always been interested in style / fashion, but up until the last year, taking pride in my appearance and doing my homework in regards to menswear etc has been a almost an obsession. Something which I think about daily! (I drive my gf bonkers by always looking at clothing and accessories!)

So studying something along the lines of Fashion Journalism appeals to me.. Alot.

My question is, does anyone here study any sort of fashion course at their Uni / College? If so, what course(s)? How do you make the 'leap' into the career side of mens fashion?
    And I may have to move away from here in order to find the course I want to do, has anyone on here had to move miles from 'home' to study?

Fashion is an international industry, employing thousands of people in various jobs. Many universities and colleges run related courses and, with a degree in any field of fashion and textiles, it is possible to pursue most of the following areas of work, and more! The title of your course is not binding, so don't feel tied. For example, a degree in menswear design could be an ideal stepping-stone into the fields of menswear buying, styling or whatever fashion-related career appeals to you after graduation. The following lists just a few of the courses on offer and suggests where they could lead you.
    Course:Fashion Marketing and Promotion