FashionBeans: Men's Fashion & Men's Style Guide
+ Reply to Thread

Career Paths

Hey there I am a massive follower of fashionbeans and other blogs and fashion scenes but this is my first post.

Ill try and keep this short... (try). I have just finished high school and am currently one of many clueless teenagers thrown out into the wide world. I am interested in doing something in the fashion industry so I was wondering has anyone got any helpful advice or just what other #menswear addicts do for a job?

Cheers.

Fashion is a hard industry to break into - you might consider starting a blog or perhaps your own fashion related business. These are things you can do on the side and build up yourself - because there are so few positions, you are unlikely to just walk into a position. You may have a better chance if you try to create your own personal brand as a consultant/stylist or business.

Hi William,

I have been fortunate to work in some parts of the fashion industry (im a photographer) and the one thing id say is that you are better off learning about business or marketing, then using those skills and your personality/personal interests to work into fashion.

Internships at magazines or brands do work, but thats more for the networking possibilities rather than learning things.

There is plenty of work out there in the fashion world, sticking at it, working hard and being positive will all help you along your way.

Wayne

Hey WilliamJames,